A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

"Let's not mince words. This is a great book. Truly difficult to put down . . .
it's climax and resolution will not disappoint."
Lionel Shriver, Washington Post

"Seductively menacing . . .
what makes Osborne's work so compelling is that it's ruthlessly unpredictable."
NPR's "Fresh Air"

"Beautiful Animals is [Osborne's] most accomplished book so far—a big, clever, crazed beast of a novel."
Deborah Levy, Financial Times

"A sinister and streamlined entertainment in the tradition of Paul Bowles, Evelyn Waugh, and the early Ian McEwan . . . surprising and dark and excellent."—New York Times

"Extraordinarily acute to human nature."—Akhil Sharma, Newsweek

"Slim but insistent . . . a vivid and feverish portrait of a soul in self-inflicted purgatorio."—Tom Shone, New York Times Book Review